FSU graduate elected president of Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences

February 9, 2009

Filed Under: Alumni

Melissa Hickman Barlow, has been elected president of the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences. She is the third FSU graduate to receive the honor in the past five years.

Barlow is a professor in the Department of Criminal Justice and director of the Institute for Community Justice at Fayetteville State University. She has served as the College of Basic and Applied Sciences assistant dean (2005-2006) and the interim Criminal Justice Department chair (2006-2007).

The Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences is an international association established in 1963 to foster professional and scholarly activities in the field of criminal justice. ACJS promotes criminal justice education, research, and policy analysis within the discipline of criminal justice for both educators and practitioners.